Overview of London


London, UK is the capital of England and the United Kingdom. At its center lie the imposing Houses of Parliament, with the iconic clock tower at its base. Across the Thames River from the heart of London stands the London Eye, a floating observatory that offers breathtaking views of the Thames. The world’s most valuable museums, art galleries and universities are located in London. In addition, there are many exciting nightlife options including world-class pubs and discos where people enjoy music, food and drink.


The capital city of England is an ever changing, ever enlarging metropolis. When the Channel Islands was part of the English Commonwealth, London was known as the English nation’s capitol city. Today, London is one of the world’s most prominent financial centers, housing the stock exchange and property investor the London Stock Exchange, among many other financial, banking and commercial exchanges. The City of London, which comprises all of the zones associated with the financial, business and cultural arenas of London, also houses the City Palace, home to the prime minister; Buckingham Palace, the residence of the queen; and the Tower of London, where the former prime minister, William Pitt resided.

While London is the political and economic hub of England, it is also the capital city of England, Scotland and Wales. On a flip side, when referring to London, it is actually the administrative and central division of England, as it houses all of the major governments and authorities. London is governed by a municipal council, which elects councilors for each ward in the local jurisdiction. A mayor also serves as a local government supervisor and mayor of the London authority. The mayoralty is hereditary and represents the will of the people in London.

London is made up of seven counties: Greater London, the City of London, Westminster, Kensington and Chelsea, South London, and Tatton and Hythe. The metropolitan area constitutes approximately 5 million souls. The London mayor, who serves as a member of the central government of England, has the power to design programs and policies for his/her ward. London is divided into zones, which are geographically designated as a part of London. The mayor is responsible for the development of these zones and also exercises the power of the mayor through an annual commission known as the London Mayoral Commission.

The main article on this subject matter was written in 2021. It discusses the demographics, economic conditions, population trends, economy and environment of the London region. After reading the main article, you should have a better understanding on how the London region came to be.

The London region is made up of seven counties: Inner London, West London, South London, East London, Southwest London, and Central London. The largest counties are London, Greater London, Birmingham, Crewe, Worcestershire, and Essex. The counties vary in terms of their size and historical background. The major counties are known for their major cities, including: Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Birmingham, Cardiff, Edinburgh, London, and West Yorkshire. Inner London, Outer London, and West London are the major towns in the London region.

The London metropolitan area covers approximately 5.6 million people. The biggest counties London is covered by are: Norfolk, Suffolk, Kent, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, and Birmingham. The smallest counties are Scottish National, York, and Durham. The richest counties are: Surrey, Hertfordshire, and London. The population of London is made up of different ethnicities. The largest ethnic group that lives in the London metropolitan area is Indian.

Other countries outside of England that make up the London metropolitan area include: Belgium, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and Jersey. There are many nations outside of England that can be considered a part of the United Kingdom. All of these groups contribute to the well-known London population. Many other nations, however, have much smaller populations than do the citizens of London, which makes up approximately 15% of the world’s population.